For the Journey: Stress and Deadlines

Time and not having enough of it has been one of my biggest struggles of late, and it seems to be one I share with the vast majority of people I know.  Everyone is crazy busy.

My biggest Sunday School deadline is coming up, so this week I reached my quarterly “How will I ever get it all done?!” moment.  (No, I’m not procrastinating…  My printer is in overdrive as I write.)  Don’t get me wrong: I absolutely love writing literature.  In fact, I would just be lost without it because it’s both my passion and purpose.  But, that doesn’t change the fact that sometimes I’m fighting sleep when I sit down to work on it or the fact that sometimes trying to balance everything is quite the challenge.

Last night, I was frantically working on my last new adult-level lesson.  It was going nowhere.  And what got me about that was I had purposefully saved this lesson for last and had been super excited about it and looking forward to it all along.  It came time to do it though, and I started overthinking.  I decided there was just no way it was going to work the way I originally planned, so I tried to go a whole different direction with it, which didn’t work at all.

I finally got tired of just staring at it and started over, trusting my initial instincts this time but thinking, “I really don’t have time for this.”  Guess what?  It started coming together really well.  As I was writing it, I knew I wanted to reference a passage from Paul’s writings as an example; I also knew there were several I could choose from and didn’t have a specific one in mind, so I was agonizing over how long it was going to take me to find the right one—that deadline thing again.  (Plus, Paul did write a rather large portion of the New Testament.)  I’m not kidding; I opened my Bible toward the back where Paul’s letters are, and the first passage I laid eyes on was perfect.  That may seem like a small, insignificant thing, but for me it was huge.  I’m not ashamed to admit I immediately started crying.  It was like God was saying, “I’ve helped you with this deadline thing before.  Quit stressing and trust Me.”

So, yes, life is crazy busy, and it does seem like there’s always more things to do than time to do them in.  But, I’m thankful that God is always with us.  I’m thankful He helps in the midst of crazy schedules and long to-do lists because He truly cares about every detail of our lives.

 

Switching gears completely, in case you need a good laugh, this was my week:

Sunday night:  I get home from church, change into feeding clothes, and am carrying water to the dogs when I almost trip and fall but manage to right myself and simply pour water all over me…only to trip and fall not even five minutes later outside the little dogs’ pen…

Monday morning:  Almost pulled in at the old location.  (We moved last week.  Surprisingly, I only did that the one day this week.)

Tuesday afternoon:  I go to my sister’s house after work to kill a little time because we were meeting a friend for supper.  The power was off.  She “forgot” to warn me her security system would start alarming because of the power being off.  Miniature heart attack.

Wednesday morning:  Wet boots, slick floor, trying to hurry…  You can imagine how that one ended.

Thursday night:  I shut my hand in my dresser…  Still not sure how I managed that one, and I’ve only had that dresser forever.

Friday afternoon:  Temporarily lost my phone.  Fortunately, I’m not the sort who can’t go without it for hours.  My only real concern when I realized it was gone was wondering if I dropped it in the floorboard of my car or in the parking lot to get picked up or crushed by a truck when I switched to Mom’s car for us to go to Russellville.  I also whacked my head getting out of her car…  (The phone was in my car in case you were wondering.)

Then, this afternoon, I dropped the can of feed for the goats on my way to the pen, and not paying attention because I was trying to hurry to make up for the time spent on my hands and knees picking up the feed, I walked into a tree branch for fall number three of the week…

Looks like I won’t be outgrowing that insanely klutzy, slightly accident-prone thing anytime soon…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

